Zu viele Wege

Legend-of-1900

1900 ist ein begnadeter Pianist, als Baby aufgefunden im Luxus-Liner „Virginian" und der Einfachheit halber nach dem aktuellen Jahr benannt. Er wird sein Leben auf diesem Schiff verbringen, weil er mit den unendlichen Wahlmöglichkeiten des Lebens an Land nicht zurechtkommt, und er stirbt auch mit dem Schiff:

„…I think land people waste a lot of time wondering why. Winter comes and can’t wait for summer, summer comes and you never can wait for winter. That’s why you never tired of traveling or chasing some place far away, where it’s always summer. Doesn’t sound like a good bet to me …
All that city … You just couldn’t see an end to it. The end! Please, could you show me where it ends? … In all that sprawling city, there was everything except an end … What I couldn’t see was where all that came to an end. The end of the world … Christ, did you see the streets? There were thousands of them! How do you choose just one? One woman, one house, one piece of land to call your own, one landscape to look at, one way to die. All that world weighing down on you without you knowing where it ends. Aren’t you scared of just breaking apart just thinking about it, the enormity of living in it? I was born on this ship. The world passed me by, but two thousand people at a time. And there were wishes here, but never more than could fit on a ship, between prow and stern. You played out your happiness on a piano that was not infinite. I learned to live that way. Land is a ship too big for me. It’s a woman too beautiful. It’s a voyage too long. Perfume too strong. It’s music I don’t know how to make. I can’t get off this ship. At best, I can step off my life. After all, it’s as though I never existed. …"

Als ich mich nach dem fast 2stündigen Film zum Schlafen legte, sah ich da hinten auf der Schwärze des Pazifiks eine jener hohen, stumpfen Fähren deutscher Produktion sich langsam gen Süden bewegen. Alle Decks strahlend hell erleuchtet, und ganz über das Schiff gezogen eine Lichterkette, die sich gelb vom mondbeleuchteten Himmel abhob, und ein einzelnes rotes Licht, obwohl mir die Steuerbord-Seite zugewandt war. Im Vordergrund meine Reisfelder in allen Varianten von Mondlicht-Graublau und Schwarz.
Zu viele Wege da draußen. Wie habe ich mich für meinen entschieden? Anders als 1900 habe ich immer versucht, mich mit dem Boden zu verwurzeln – wie ein Baumsame, der vom Wind getrieben unter tausenden von Möglichkeiten seinen für ihn passenden Platz findet.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Legend_of_1900
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0120731/

Schreibe einen Kommentar

